Longford Gaelic Stats
Senior Football Championship Final

Man of the Match

The Fr. McGee trophy has been presented each year since 1977 to the winner of the Longford Senior Football Championship Man of the Match award. The award is named in honour of Fr. Phil McGee from Colmcille who was heavily involved with the great Longford teams of the 1960’s and was the first principal of Moyne Community School. He passed away on 27th January 1975 at the age of 46 years, just a few months after the school opened. Fr. McGee (brother of Eugene McGee) had a big impact on football in Longford at both minor and senior level and the Colmcille club grounds is named in his honour.

Dessie Barry has the distinction of winning the Man of the Match award three times (Longford Slashers 1989, 1990, 1991), while Daniel Mimnagh (Killoe Young Emmets 2014, 2019), Pauric Davis (Fr. Manning Gaels 1997, 1998) and Mick Casey (Cashel 1984, 1986) won the award twice. A player from the losing side won the Man of the Match award on two occasions (Brendan Lennon for Killoe in 1987 and Conor Berry for Abbeylara in 2015). The only two brothers to win the award were Paul Barden (2004) and David Barden (2009).

YearMan of Match WinnerClub Name
2022Jack MackenColmcille
2021Cian MackeyMullinalaghta St. Columbas
2020Mickey QuinnKilloe Young Emmets
2019Daniel MimnaghKilloe Young Emmets
2018David McGivneyMullinalaghta St. Columbas
2017Rian BradyMullinalaghta St. Columbas
2016John KeeganMullinalaghta St. Columbas
2015Conor BerryAbbeylara
2014Daniel MimnaghKilloe Young Emmets
2013Dermot BradyLongford Slashers
2012Sean McCormackKilloe Young Emmets
2011Paul KellyLongford Slashers
2010David SheridanLongford Slashers
2009David BardenClonguish
2008Declan C ReillyColmcille
2007Francis McGeeDromard
2006Niall SheridanAbbeylara
2005Diarmuid MastersonDromard
2004Paul BardenClonguish
2003Paddy DowdClonguish
2002Frankie DolanBallymahon
2001Frank McNameeFr. Manning Gaels
2000Terry DrakeAbbeylara
1999Paul JonesDromard
1998Pauric DavisFr. Manning Gaels
1997Pauric DavisFr. Manning Gaels
1996Padraic BradyFr. Manning Gaels
1995John ToherKilloe Young Emmets
1994Gerry ClarkeLongford Slashers
1993John McCormackKilloe Young Emmets
1992Bernie ConnellMostrim
1991Dessie BarryLongford Slashers
1990Dessie BarryLongford Slashers
1989Dessie BarryLongford Slashers
1988Frank KennedyKilloe Young Emmets
1987Brendan LennonKilloe Young Emmets
1986Mick CaseyCashel
1985John SmithMostrim
1984Mick CaseyCashel
1983Brendan SmythCashel
1982Kevin O'RourkeSt. Marys Granard
1981Jimmy McCormackClonguish
1980Donal O'BrienLongford Slashers
1979Michael SextonLongford Slashers
1978Pat HigginsArdagh St. Patricks
1977Jim KennyCashel

This content was researched & compiled independently from 2014 to 2022.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.