Longford Gaelic Stats
U-12 Hurling Championship

U-12 Winners

WonClub / TeamYear Titles Won
22Longford Slashers1983, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2023
8Wolfe Tones1990, 1994, 2006, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2022
3Clonguish Gaels1981, 1991, 1997
3Ballymahon1989, 1999, 2000
2St. Brendans1982, 1984
2Cashel1980, 1986
1St. Dominics2021

– St. Dominics is Kenagh
– St. Brendans was Stonepark

– Cuchullains was Cashel & Killashee

U-12 Hurling Championship

Roll of Honour

Longford Slashers 3-9
Clonguish Gaels 4-1

Final played on 20th September 2023 in McGann Park.

Wolfe Tones 1-5
St. Dominics (Kenagh) 0-5

Final was played on 13th October 2022.

St. Dominics (Kenagh) 9-2
Wolfe Tones 1-2

Final was played on 17th October 2021.

Was due to be curtain raiser to SHC final in October 2020.

Game was called off on 1st October and Wolfe Tones conceded on 4th October 2020.

Longford Slashers W/O
Wolfe Tones Scr

Final was scheduled for 10th November 2019. Wolfe Tones conceded.

Longford Slashers 3-4
Wolfe Tones 0-1

Final was played on 2nd September 2018.

Longford Slashers 2-4
Wolfe Tones 1-3

Final was played on 13th August 2017.

Wolfe Tones 2-5
Longford Slashers 1-7

Final was played on 16th August 2016. Trophy is blank for 2016.

Reported on Wolfe Tones social media as winners and photograph of captain receiving trophy.

Reported on Longford Slashers social media with image of winning team with trophy.

No further notes.

No further notes.

Longford Slashers 1-6
Wolfe Tones 0-2

Final was played on 18th June 2011.

No further notes.

When Longford Slashers won U12 Hurling Championship in 2012, the match report noted it as the clubs fourth title in five years. Slashers titles are verified for 2012, 2008 & 2007. Hence Longford Slashers must also have won the title in 2009 although no published record exists in 2009.

Trophy is blank for 2009.

No further notes.

Longford Slashers 2-2
Clonguish Gaels 2-1

Final was played in September 2007.

No further notes.

No record of any winner.

No record of any underage hurling championships (U21, Minor, Juvenile, U14 or U12) in 2004.

Cuchullains 4-5
Longford Slashers 2-2

The final was played in January 2003.

Note: Cuchullains = Cashel + Killashee.

Local media reports on 20th September 2002 that U12 Championship final is between Slashers Gaels and Cuchullains. Slashers Gaels are then noted as U12 Championship winners in October 18th article discussing the clubs participation in Westmeath league.

Slashers Gaels beat Cuchullains in the final.

Ballymahon Gaels 8-8
Slashers Gaels 2-3

Played on Wednesday 19th July 2000 in Pearse Park.

Clubs in U-12 competition: Ballymahon Gaels, Clonguish Gaels, Slashers Gaels, Cuchullains, Wolfe Tones and Shannon Gaels. 

No further notes.

No further notes.

No further notes.

Slashers Gaels 5-1
Wolfe Tones 1-1

Final was played in May 1996.

Note: 1996 U12 Championship included Slashers Gaels, Wolfe Tones, Ballymahon and Lough Forbes Gaels. 

No further notes.

U12 hurling in 1994 included Wolfe Tones, Slashers Gaels, Shannon Gaels, Lough Forbes Gaels and Abbeylara.

Slashers Gaels 10-1
Wolfe Tones 2-1

Note: Ballymahon beat Lough Forbes Gaels in the U12 ‘B’ Championship final.

U12 competition included Wolfe Tones, Slashers Gaels, Ballymahon, Lough Forbes Gaels and Abbeylara teams. 

Beat Ballymahon in the final after a replay.

No further notes.

Wolfe Tones Beat Ballymahon in U12 Championship final in September 1990.

Ballymahon defeated Slashers Gaels in the final. The competition was played on a blitz basis.

No further notes.

Slashers Gaels 3-3
Ballymahon 2-1

Slashers Gaels became new holders of the Jim Mannix Memorial trophy.

1987 Championship included the following:

  • Lough Forbes Gaels
  • Wolfe Tones
  • Slashers Gaels
  • Bunlahy
  • Abbeylara
  • Naomh Ciaráns
  • Ballymahon
  • Cashel

1986 Competition included:

  • Cashel
  • St. Brendans (Stonepark)
  • Ballymahon
  • Naomh Ciaráns
  • Kenagh
  • Slashers Gaels
  • Lough Forbes Gaels
  • Abbeylara
  • Wolfe Tones

Slashers Gaels 3-1
Wolfe Tones 2-0

Final was played at Michael Fay Park on 17th May 1995.

The 1984 U-12 Hurling Championship consisted of 10 teams in two sections…

Section A: 

  • Cashel
  • Naomh Ciaráns (Rathcline)
  • Slashers Gaels
  • St. Brendans (Stonepark)
  • Ballymahon

Section B:

  • Ardagh
  • Lough Forbes Gaels (Clonguish)
  • Wolfe Tones (Mostrim)
  • St. Mels Shroid
  • Abbeylara

Slashers Gaels 4-1
St. Brendans (Stonepark) 4-0

Final was played on 8th May 1983.

St. Brendans (Stonepark) 5-0
Lough Forbes Gaels 1-1

Final was played on 23rd May 1982 in Farneyhoogan.

Seven teams took part in U12 Hurling Championship in 1982. St. Brendans beat Slashers Gaels in the semi-final by 3-0 to 1-0 on 2nd May 1982 at Pearse Park, while Lough Forbes Gaels beat Cashel in the other semi-final on 15th May 1982.

Lough Forbes Gaels 9-0
St. Mels Shroid 5-0

Final was played on 4th July 1981.

Cashel 2-1
Rathcline Gaels 2-2

Final was played in June 1980. In the Losers group St. Mels Shroid won beating Slashers St. Michaels.

Club name(s) displayed are those used at the time of the final, to preserve that historic record.

U-12 Hurling Championship

Additional Notes

The following name clarifications apply to hurling finalists down the years.

  • Slashers Gaels was renamed Longford Slashers in early 2000’s.
  • Slashers St. Michaels was renamed Slashers Gaels from 1982.
  • Wolfe Tones is the hurling section of the Mostrim GAA Club.
  • Clonguish Gaels is the hurling section of the Clonguish GAA Club.
  • Lough Forbes Gaels club was renamed to Clonguish Gaels from 2000.
  • Ballymahon hurling club renamed to Ballymahon Gaels in late 1990’s.
  • Rathcline Gaels was renamed Naomh Ciaráns in the early 1980’s.
  • Cuchullains was a combination of Cashel and Killashee.
  • St. Dominics is the underage hurling section of the Kenagh club.
  • St. Annes (1970’s) and St. Brendans (1980’s) were names for Stonepark.
  • Carrick Hurling Club from Co. Leitrim joined the Longford Championship in 2021. 

This content was researched & compiled independently from 2014 to 2023.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.