Longford Gaelic Stats
Ladies Senior League (Division 1)

SFL Winners

WonClub / TeamYear Titles Won
10Killoe1980, 2004, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017
6St. Helens1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994
6Clonguish1986, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2014, 2018
5Rathcline1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005
3Ardagh1981, 1982, 1985
3Ballymore1995, 1999, 2003
3Carrickedmond1987, 2019, 2022
2Longford Slashers1983, 2023
1St. Annes1988

St. Annes was a combination of Ardagh & Legan.
– No record for 1996 & 1997 title winners.

Ladies Senior League (Division 1)

Roll of Honour

YearLadies Senior League Winner
2023🏆 Longford Slashers
2022🏆 Carrickedmond
2021Not Played (Covid-19)
2020Not Played (Covid-19)
2019🏆 Carrickedmond
2018🏆 Clonguish
2017🏆 Killoe
2016🏆 Killoe
2015🏆 Killoe
2014🏆 Clonguish
2013🏆 Killoe
2012🏆 Killoe
2011🏆 Killoe
2010🏆 Killoe
2009🏆 Clonguish
2008🏆 Killoe
2007🏆 Clonguish
2006🏆 Clonguish
2005🏆 Rathcline
2004🏆 Killoe
2003🏆 Ballymore
2002🏆 Rathcline
2001🏆 Rathcline
2000🏆 Rathcline
1999🏆 Ballymore
1998🏆 Rathcline
1997No Record
1996No Record
1995🏆 Ballymore
1994🏆 St. Helens
1993🏆 St. Helens
1992🏆 St. Helens
1991🏆 St. Helens
1990🏆 St. Helens
1989🏆 St. Helens
1988🏆 St. Annes (Ardagh/Legan)
1987🏆 Carrickedmond
1986🏆 Clonguish
1985🏆 Ardagh
1984🏆 Granard
1983🏆 Longford Slashers
1982🏆 Ardagh
1981🏆 Ardagh
1980🏆 Killoe

Note 1: Senior League is defined as the foremost Senior League competition of each year (may have been 9-a-side or 13-a-side or 15-a-side in any particular year depending on number of clubs in existence at that time). The winner receives the Anthony Curren cup. 

Note 2: Senior League competition began in Longford on Sunday 31st August 1980 and was the very first Ladies competition in the county. The competition included the five clubs formed in the preceding months… Abbeylara, Colmcille, Dromard, Killoe and Legan. Killoe won the inaugural Senior League competition of 1980 with victory over Legan in the final, on a scoreline of 1-3 to 0-2 and were the first to be awarded the Anthony Curren Cup. By 1981 new clubs such as Ardagh, Cashel, Clonguish, Éire Óg, Forgney, Kenagh, Longford Slashers, Mostrim, Moydow, Seán Connollys and Shroid were formed and competed alongside Abbeylara, Colmcille, Dromard, Killoe and Legan in 1981 league competition. The Senior League competition of 1981 was won by Ardagh who defeated Longford Slashers by 4-7 to 2-0 in the final. As there was no championship competition at that time, the winners of 1980 and 1981 were regarded and referred to in club notes that year as ‘County Champions’. 

Note 3: Carrickedmond won the 1987 Senor League title after a replay. The score in the first game was Carrickedmond 2-6, St. Annes 2-6. Carrickedmond won the 2022 Senior League title by topping the table at the end of competition (i.e. no final played in 2022).

Missing Records: No record of Senior League final or winner has been found for 1996 or 1997. This may be due to competition not completed due to the extended run by Longford Junior team in both Leinster and All-Ireland action in both years which led to other competitions being pushed into the following year, and may have led to the Senior League not being played/completed. If you have any information on Senior Division 1 winners for those two years, or if you can confirm that there was no winner for either/both of those years, please use the ‘Contact’ section of this website to get in touch and let us know. 

This content was researched & compiled independently from 2014 to 2023.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.