Longford Gaelic Stats
All County Football League Div 1

ACFL Division 1

The modern-day All County Football League (ACFL) competition was first introduced on February 10th 1980 and spanned three divisions, with Leader Cup for Division 1, Michael Moran Cup for Division 2 and Patsy Reilly Cup for Division 3. It was the first time that a common league competition encompassed all clubs in the county. The Leader Cup was awarded to the winner of a knock-out series involving the top teams in Division 1 at the time. In 1990 it was decided to introduce a title and cup for finishing top of ACFL Division 1 table at the end of all rounds of games (prior to knockout stage for Leader Cup). Fr. Manning Gaels and Mullinalaghta St. Columbas are the only two clubs to have achieved three-in-a-row of ACFL Division 1 titles, with Fr. Manning Gaels the only club to have completed five-in-a-row of Division 1 titles in the 1990’s. In the years from 1990 to 2001, the Bertie Allen Cup was the ACFL Division 1 trophy. It was replaced by the Johnny Skelly Cup from 2002.

The ACFL Division 1 title is distinct and different from the Senior Football League (Leader Cup) title in the same way that the team topping Division 1 of the National Football League is different from the National Football League winner. In some years, Division 1 was split into groups of A and B or North and South or 1A and 1B, and in those instances the ACFL Division 1 title was decided between the top team in each group/section. It is worth noting that cups are also presented to those finishing top of the other divisions in the ACFL. In recent times there has been a recurring conflation between ACFL Division 1 and Senior Football League (Leader Cup). For the avoidance of doubt, the Senior Football League trophy in Longford is the Leader Cup. The Johnny Skelly Cup is the Division 1 Cup.

All County Football League Div 1

ACFL Winners

WonClub / NameYear Titles Won
6Fr. Manning Gaels1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001
5Dromard2000, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2014
4Longford Slashers1991, 1994, 2012, 2013
4Mullinalaghta St. Columbas2017, 2018, 2019, 2021
3Clonguish2003, 2008, 2011
3Killoe Young Emmets2005, 2010, 2016
3Colmcille1990, 2020, 2022
2St. Marys Granard1992, 1993
2Abbeylara2009, 2015

All County Football League Div 1

Roll of Honour

YearACFL Division 1
2021Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2019Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2018Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2017Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2016Killoe Young Emmets
2013Longford Slashers
2012Longford Slashers
2010Killoe Young Emmets
2005Killoe Young Emmets
2001Fr. Manning Gaels
1999Fr. Manning Gaels
1998Fr. Manning Gaels
1997Fr. Manning Gaels
1996Fr. Manning Gaels
1995Fr. Manning Gaels
1994Longford Slashers
1993St. Marys Granard
1992St. Marys Granard
1991Longford Slashers

This content was researched & compiled independently from 2014 to 2022.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.