Longford Gaelic Stats
Longford Féile Peile na nÓg

Féile Peile na nÓg

Féile Peile na nÓg is a national festival of Gaelic Football for Under 15 age group (changed from U-14 to U-15 in 2021). The competition was proposed by and first held in Cavan in 1982, and was the brainchild of Granard native Fintan Tierney, based in Butlersbridge who was Chair of the Cavan Schools Board at the time. Féile An Cabháin in 1982 saw a total of 40 teams participate, 20 of whom were from other counties. Shannon Gaels were nominated to represent Longford at the 1982 Féile Peile na nÓg as there was no competition in Longford at that time.

Each year thousands of boys and girls from each of the 32 counties, along with teams from the UK, Europe and USA, participate in Féile Peile na nÓg. Individual counties host local competition and the winner is nominated to represent their county at the National Féile. Sometimes the runners-up in certain counties may also be invited to compete in the National Feile competition. In 2021 the pandemic caused a change to the format whereby 36 teams (8 Football, 8 Hurling, 8 LGFA, 8 Camogie) were invited to compete in Féile in Croke Park to celebrate 50 years of Féile. Longford did not have any representative in Football at National Féile that year. Féile Peile na nÓg places great emphasis and importance on proper participation, presentation, punctuality and sportsmanship. It is recognised by the GAA as a major festival of great importance for the promotion of Gaelic Football. The competition has been sponsored over the years by Coca Cola (1982-2012), Bus Eireann (2013 & 2015), Irish Pride (2015) and John West (since 2016). The Hurling/Camogie equivalent of Féile Peile na nÓg is called Féile na nGael.

WonFéile na nÓg WinnerYear Titles Won
11Longford Slashers1985, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1997, 1998, 2011, 2013, 2016
7Northern Gaels1996, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2009, 2010
5Killoe Óg2000, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2018
5Clonguish Óg1999, 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023
2Wolfe Tones Óg1991, 2001
2St. Vincents1986, 2006
1Shannon Gaels *1982
1St. Francis1984
1St. Dominics1995
1Southern Gaels2002
1St. James'2008
1Shamrock Gaels2017

* Nominated to represent Longford at Féile na nÓg.
– Féile grade changed from U-14 to U-15 from 2021.

Longford Féile Peile na nÓg

National Titles

Longford winners at National Féile Peile na nÓg are as follows:

1992 Division 4 Cup – Ballymahon (Leo Caseys):
Beat St. Brendans (London) by 5-5 to 1-3 in Meath.

2010 Division 4 Cup – Northern Gaels:
Beat De La Salle (Waterford) by 2-4 to 0-0 in Derry.

2012 Division 4 Cup – Killoe Óg:
Beat Newtownblues (Louth) 2-3 to 0-5 in Laois.

2018 Division 9 Cup – Granard/Ballymore:
Beat Curry (Sligo) by 0-4 to 0-3 in Down.

2019 Division 4 Cup – Clonguish Óg:
Beat St. Marys (Sligo) by 1-7 to 0-7 in Mayo.

2022 Division 5 Shield – Clonguish Óg:
Beat Two Mile House (Kildare) by 3-6 to 1-3 in Dublin.

Note: Other finalists at National Féile include St. Vincents (Drumlish-Ballinamuck) who reached the Division 4 Cup final in Wicklow in 2006 but lost out to Cooley Kickhams by 1-7 to 0-8, while Carrick Sarsfields reached the Division 10 Cup final in 2019 and Division 7 Shield final in 2014. It is also worth noting that in Ladies Gaelic Football, Clonguish won the 2019 National Féile Division 4 Cup beating Knockainey (Limerick) in the final, while St. Brigids Gaels (Ardagh) reached the 2018 National Féile Division 4 Cup final and Killoe Ladies reached the 2022 National Féile Division 4 Cup final.

Longford Féile Peile na nÓg

Roll of Honour

YearGradeLongford Féile WinnerNational Féile Host
2023U-15🏆 Clonguish ÓgConnacht GAA
2022U-15🏆 Clonguish ÓgDublin/Kildare
2021U-15🏆 Clonguish ÓgCroke Park
2020U-14No CompetitionNo Competition
2019U-14🏆 Clonguish ÓgConnacht GAA
2018U-14🏆 Killoe ÓgDown/Meath/Louth
2017U-14🏆 Shamrock GaelsFermanagh/Cavan/Monaghan
2016U-14🏆 Longford SlashersKerry/Cork/Limerick
2015U-14🏆 Killoe ÓgCarlow/Wicklow/Wexford
2014U-14🏆 Killoe ÓgConnacht GAA
2013U-14🏆 Longford SlashersDerry
2012U-14🏆 Killoe ÓgLaois/Offaly
2011U-14🏆 Longford SlashersCork
2010U-14🏆 Northern GaelsDerry
2009U-14🏆 Northern GaelsKildare
2008U-14🏆 St. James'Cavan
2007U-14🏆 Northern GaelsLeitrim
2006U-14🏆 St. VincentsWicklow
2005U-14🏆 Northern GaelsLimerick
2004U-14🏆 Northern GaelsTyrone
2003U-14🏆 Northern GaelsGalway
2002U-14🏆 Southern GaelsCarlow
2001U-14🏆 Wolfe Tones ÓgTipperary
2000U-14🏆 Killoe ÓgDublin
1999U-14🏆 Lough Forbes GaelsClare
1998U-14🏆 St. MichaelsDonegal
1997U-14🏆 St. MichaelsDonegal
1996U-14🏆 Northern GaelsMayo
1995U-14🏆 St. DominicsMayo
1994U-14🏆 GranardKerry
1993U-14🏆 St. MichaelsKerry
1992U-14🏆 Ballymahon Leo CaseysMeath
1991U-14🏆 Wolfe TonesMeath
1990U-14🏆 St. MichaelsGalway
1989U-14🏆 St. MichaelsGalway
1988U-14🏆 St. MichaelsKildare
1987U-14🏆 St. MichaelsKildare
1986U-14🏆 St. VincentsCork
1985U-14🏆 St. MichaelsMayo
1984U-14🏆 St. FrancisCavan
1983U-14No RecordCavan
1982U-14🏆 Shannon GaelsCavan

– St. Michaels was later renamed Longford Slashers. 
– Lough Forbes Gaels was later renamed Clonguish Óg. 
– Various clubs added ‘Óg’ suffix to their name in 2000’s.
– St. Dominics is the underage section of the Kenagh club.
– St. Francis is the underage section of the Dromard club.
– Shannon Gaels is the underage section of the Rathcline club.
– St. Vincents is the underage section of the Fr. Manning Gaels club.
– St. James’s was combination for Ardagh & Moydow in 1990’s & 2000’s.
– Northern Gaels is the underage club for both Abbeylara and Mullinalaghta clubs.
– Shamrock Gaels is a combination of Ballymahon Forgney Gaels & Southern Gaels.
– Ballymahon Leo Caseys was Ballymahon underage prior to Ballymahon Forgney Gaels.

This content was researched & compiled independently in 2023.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.