Longford Gaelic Stats
Ladies Intermediate 'A' Championship

IFC Winners

WonClub / TeamYear Titles Won
3Ballymore2000, 2010, 2020
2Killoe2001, 2003
2St. Helens1999, 2014
2Colmcille2011, 2021
2Grattans2019, 2022
1Longford Slashers2018
Ladies Intermediate 'A' Championship

Roll of Honour

YearLadies Intermediate 'A' Championship Winner
2018Longford Slashers
2014St. Helens
2009No Competition
2008No Competition
2007No Record
2006No Record
2005No Record
2004No Record
1999St. Helens

Structure: Junior competition was introduced in 1998 and Intermediate was introduced in 1999. For the 1999 season, teams beaten in the earlier rounds (Round 1 or Quarter finals) of the ‘A’ Championship would play the Junior Championship (which used to be called Senior B from 1990 to 1997 and changed to Junior in 1998), while the beaten semi finalists went into the new Intermediate final. St. Helen’s won the first Intermediate Championship in 1999. By 2000, the Intermediate Championship included teams beaten in all rounds up to and including the semi final. Intermediate competition didn’t become a graded competition (with pre-defined Intermediate teams or clubs) until years later.

2008 & 2009: For both of these seasons the Senior Championship competition was played under the banner of ‘Intermediate Championship’ instead. Longford Senior Champions of 2008 and 2009 and would have to play in the Leinster Senior Club competition in those years rather than in the Leinster Intermediate Club championship. It seems that a decision was made to stay in Intermediate provincial competition, hence the Senior Championship had to be played under the banner of Intermediate Championship even though it was the same SFC competition and trophy as previous and subsequent Senior Championship years. Hence in the match reports for both years finals, they appear as Intermediate A Championship Finals. For our stats we assign these titles to the Senior Championship roll of honour. 

Missing Records: We found no record of Intermediate Championship from 2004 to 2007. For 2008 and 2009 the Senior Championship was played as ‘Intermediate’ grade (the match reports are all reported as Intermediate ‘A’ Championship final) but is included in the Senior roll. No evidence found of any other Intermediate winners in those years. Ballymore is inscribed on the Intermediate Cup for 2008 but we could not find any published evidence or match report to match this. If you have information on any of those years winners, or can confirm that there was no winner for any/all of those years, please use the ‘Contact’ section of this site to get in touch. 

This content was researched & compiled independently from 2014 to 2022.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.