Longford Gaelic Stats
U-21 Football Championship

U-21 Winners

WonClub / TeamYear Titles Won
9St. Marys Granard1966, 1967, 1968, 1970, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1996
8Clonguish1964, 1965, 1971, 1972, 2000, 2017, 2022, 2023
7Longford Slashers1969, 1975, 1977, 1982, 1984, 1990, 2004
7Killoe Young Emmets1979, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, 2019
6Fr. Manning Gaels1981, 1983, 1993, 1995, 1999, 2013
5Dromard2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
4Kenagh1963, 1987, 1989, 1997
4Colmcille2001, 2002, 2003, 2015
3Rathcline1985, 1986, 1998
2Mostrim1973, 1980
1Northern Gaels †1976
1Granard Region ‡1978

 Northern Gaels (1976) = Dromard + Fr. Manning Gaels. (See info)
‡  Granard Region (1978) = Granard + Ballymore + Mullinalaghta.
Grade changed from U-21 to U-20 in 2018 and back to U-21 from 2022.

U-21 Football Championship

U-21 Timeline

U-21 Football Championship

Roll of Honour

YearGradeChampionship Winners
2023U21🏆 Clonguish
2022U21🏆 Clonguish
2021U20No Competition (Covid-19)
2020U20No Competition (Covid-19)
2019U20🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2018U20🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2017U21🏆 Clonguish
2016U21🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2015U21🏆 Colmcille
2014U21🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2013U21🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
2012U21🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2011U21🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2010U21🏆 Abbeylara
2009U21🏆 Dromard
2008U21🏆 Dromard
2007U21🏆 Dromard
2006U21🏆 Dromard
2005U21🏆 Dromard
2004U21🏆 Longford Slashers
2003U21🏆 Colmcille
2002U21🏆 Colmcille
2001U21🏆 Colmcille
2000U21🏆 Clonguish
1999U21🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1998U21🏆 Rathcline
1997U21🏆 Kenagh
1996U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1995U21🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1994U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1993U21🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1992U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1991U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1990U21🏆 Longford Slashers
1989U21🏆 Kenagh
1988U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1987U21🏆 Kenagh
1986U21🏆 Rathcline
1985U21🏆 Rathcline
1984U21🏆 Longford Slashers
1983U21🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1982U21🏆 Longford Slashers
1981U21🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1980U21🏆 Mostrim
1979U21🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
1978U21🏆 Granard Region ‡
1977U21🏆 Longford Slashers
1976U21🏆 Northern Gaels †
1975U21🏆 Longford Slashers
1974U21🏆 Cashel
1973U21🏆 Mostrim
1972U21🏆 Clonguish
1971U21🏆 Clonguish
1970U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1969U21🏆 Longford Slashers
1968U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1967U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1966U21🏆 St. Marys Granard
1965U21🏆 Clonguish
1964U21🏆 Clonguish
1963U21🏆 Kenagh St. Dominicks

Northern Gaels (1976) = Dromard + Fr. Manning Gaels. (See info)
Granard Region (1978) = Granard + Ballymore + Mullinalaghta.

(Names of winners are displayed using name of each team at the time of that final, to preserve that historic record)

U-21 Football Championship

Additional Notes

  • Granard Region (1978) = Granard + Ballymore + Mullinalaghta.
  • Northern Gaels (1976) = Dromard + Fr. Manning Gaels  (📷 Source)

Northern Gaels Name: Dromard and Fr. Manning Gaels competed under the name Northern Gaels in U-21 Championship in 1976. This was the first year of this combination at U-21 grade and County Board decided at the end of 1976 not to permit combinations for the 1977 Under 21 ‘A’ Championship, hence we do not find that combination or the name Northern Gaels in competition the following year, and we see Dromard appear separately in the draw for the 1977 Under 21 ‘A’ Championship. Reference to the team as Northern Gaels is found in U-21 Championship fixtures and reports throughout 1976 and the name is also cited in local Drumlish parish notes and in Fr. Manning Gaels club notes (📷 Examples). Additionally, Dromard and Fr. Manning Gaels combined in 1975 to compete as an Intermediate team in the Senior Football Championship (via a Qualifier route), also under the name Northern Gaels, reaching the semi-final and losing out to Mostrim. The Northern Gaels name was also used in underage in 1975 & 1976 with St. Vincents (Fr. Manning Gaels), St. Francis (Dromard) and St. Colmcilles (Colmcille) jointly competing as Northern Gaels in the Juvenile Championship and Minor Championship in those years. It should be noted that these Northern Gaels team references are different and separate from the Northern Gaels underage club created some years later by Abbeylara and Mullinalaghta clubs. Abbeylara and Mullinalaghta currently compete in underage competition and in U-21 Championship as Northern Gaels. 

St. Marys Granard won a three-in-a-row of titles for 1966, 1967 & 1968, all in the same year. The championship finals from 1966 and 1967 were delayed until 1968, with the 1967 decider played on 29th September 1968 with Granard beating Ballymahon, while the 1968 final was played on Sunday 29th December 1968, with Granard beating Mostrim by 2-3 to 0-3. The MacAogain Cup (Fr. Egan Cup) was used for U-21 competition back then, and was presented to the winning captain.

Here are images of the U-21 medals for all three years (Source: Granard GAA)

Grade changed from U-21 to U-20 from 2018 to 2021, then back to U-21 from 2022.

This content was researched & compiled independently from 2014 to 2023.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.