Longford Gaelic Stats
Title Allocations Research

Longford Parish

Six clubs from the Longford parish (traditionally known as Templemichael & Ballymacormack parish) won key Football Championship titles over the years:

  1. Longford Leo Caseys
  2. Young Grattans (Grattan Óg)
  3. Longford Wanderers
  4. Whiterock Slashers
  5. Longford Slashers
  6. Shroid Slashers

Longford Leo Caseys won Senor Football Championship titles in 1904 & 1905. The club was recorded playing Killoe for a silver cup in 1908, and reported as organising to play Westmeath in hurling in 1911 and playing Clonguish in a Gaelic Football tournament in 1911, with the clubs last recorded activity around 1912. The club appears to have folded thereafter. Longford Leo Caseys also represented Longford in hurling during the 1902-1911 period, was the very first hurling club formed in the county in 1902.

Young Grattans or Grattan Óg takes its name from the old Ballymacormack Grattans club formed back in 1890. Ballymacormack Grattans vanished after the unfinished 1891 Championship and there is no evidence of any Grattans club in official competition for over 40 years thereafter. In July 1933 a notice appeared in the local newspaper (📷 Source) announcing the formation of the ‘Young Grattans’ club. It stated that “This is a newly formed club and takes its name from the old Ballymacormack Grattans who over thirty years ago were one of the foremost clubs in the county”. However the new club never actually materialised and Young Grattans was not found in any official competition throughout the 1930’s or 1940’s. The club finally appears in official competition in 1950 but lapses in early 1954 after failing to fulfill Junior League fixtures due to the impact of emigration, and the club remained inactive until 1980. The modern Grattans club was reformed in 1980 as Young Grattans. The Irish version ‘Grattan Óg‘ is also used interchangeably with Young Grattans as the club name.

Longford Slashers was formed on 4th January 1954 when Longford Wanderers and Whiterock Slashers clubs united to form the Longford Slashers club (📷 Source) (💻 Club History). The fortunes of Longford Wanderers and Whiterock Slashers were divergent by the end of 1953, with Whiterock having been promoted to senior grade for the 1954 season, while Wanderers had struggled at Senior and had slipped down to Junior grade for the 1954 season. Whiterock Slashers invited representatives of the Longford Wanderers club to their AGM in January 1954 ahead of the start of the new season, and both clubs agreed to unite to form the Longford Slashers club (using a name from each club to form the new name). Both Whiterock Slashers and Longford Wanderers had won various Championship titles prior to the formation of Longford Slashers, hence the titles of Whiterock Slashers and Longford Wanderers are (and have consistently always been prior to our research) kept separate from those of Longford Slashers in the roll of honour and titles count.

Shroid Slashers was formed in November 1957 as a revival of the Whiterock Slashers club in the area. While you might assume that Whiterock Slashers vanished when Longford Slashers was formed in 1954, that was not exactly the case (it’s complicated!!!). As Whiterock and Wanderers were finalising the merger to form the new Longford Slashers club, some officials within the Whiterock club got cold feet, and decided post the affiliation of Longford Slashers in 1954 that they wanted to maintain a separate club in the Whiterock area. They therefore affiliated a new Whiterock Slashers club that year (Whiterock Slashers 2.0), minus the players and officials who had opted to transfer to the new Longford Slashers club. Hence a club remained in the Whiterock area even after the formation of Longford Slashers. In the years that followed, Whiterock Slashers 2.0 struggled with numbers and had a temporary amalgamation with Killoe (as Killoe Slashers) in 1955 & 1956 before lapsing once the amalgamation was dissolved in January 1957. In November 1958 an attempt was made to restart GAA in the area and the Shroid Slashers club was formed as a revival of the Whiterock Slashers club. While the origin story of Shroid Slashers is that of a revival of the Whiterock Slashers club, the complex way in which the post-merger version of Whiterock Slashers was created in 1954 makes it difficult to draw a straight line between Whiterock titles (all of which predate the Longford Slashers formation) and the later Shroid Slashers titles. Longford Slashers for their part have always maintained that their club was formed via the merging of Longford Wanderers and Whiterock Slashers, and they do not assume the titles of either previous club in their own roll of honour. We keep the titles of Whiterock Slashers and Shroid Slashers separate in the title count (as had been done prior to our research) because the entity created post the merger is not the same club that won the titles prior to the merger. The Shroid Slashers club itself ceased activity during the 2019 season.

All of these allocations are consistent with title allocations prior to our research in 2014.

(Note 1: It was assumed previously that another Longford parish club called Longford Shamrocks, who played in the 1891 Championship, had won the 1896 Senior Football Championship. However the published evidence showed this was not a proper championship competition, but a one-off game and there was no Senior Championship competition held in 1896).

(Note 2: There existed a large number of different clubs and short-lived teams in Longford parish (Templemichael & Ballymacormack) down the years (see Link). The above assessment is specifically around and about those clubs who won key Football Championship titles including SFC, IFC, JFC and U-21).