Longford Gaelic Stats
Title Allocations Research

Ardagh Moydow Parish

Two clubs from the parish of Ardagh & Moydow won key titles over the years:

  • Ardagh St. Patricks
  • Moydow Harpers

Title Allocation: Titles won prior to 2019 are allocated to the respective club units listed above. Titles won by Ardagh Moydow since the creation of the new club by the union of Ardagh St. Patricks and Moydow Harpers clubs in 2019, are kept separate from titles of the above older individual clubs.

Ardagh St. Patricks and Moydow Harpers were both founded in 1889 and both clubs contested the 1890 Senior Football Championship and unfinished 1891 Senior Football Championships as separate competing clubs. Each club won various Championship titles in Senior and/or Junior down the years. On 13th January 2019, the clubs of Ardagh St. Patricks and Moydow Harpers united to create the Ardagh Moydow club (📷 Source).

Both clubs had been competing together as a Group Team for a few years prior to the merger in 2019, but formalised a permanent union in January 2019. This digital archive keeps titles won by Ardagh Moydow separate in Rolls of Honour from older titles won by Ardagh St. Patrick or Moydow Harpers clubs. Since the newly formed club did not have any history to research for title allocation purposes, the ‘separate’ status of future titles was confirmed directly with the Ardagh Moydow club in late 2020.