Longford Gaelic Stats
All County Football League Division 1

ACFL Division 1

All County Football League (ACFL) competition began on February 10th 1980 and spanned three divisions, with Leader Cup for Division 1, Michael Moran Cup for Division 2 and Patsy Reilly Cup for Division 3. It was the first time that a common league competition encompassed all clubs in Longford. Thereafter the Leader Cup (aka Senior League – ongoing since 1936) was awarded to the winner of a knock-out series of games involving the top finishers in ACFL Division 1. In 1990 it was decided to introduce a cup for the team finishing top of ACFL Division 1 at the end of all rounds of games (prior to knockout stages for Leader Cup). Fr. Manning Gaels and Mullinalaghta St. Columbas are the only two clubs to have achieved three-in-a-row of ACFL Division 1 titles, with Fr. Manning Gaels the only club to have completed five-in-a-row of Division 1 titles in the 1990’s. In the years from 1990 to 2001, the Bertie Allen Cup was used as the ACFL Division 1 trophy and was then replaced by the Johnny Skelly Cup from 2002 when the Bertie Allen Cup was used instead for a new senior league competition played without any County panel members, which ran for a few years thereafter before the Bertie Allen Cup was then repurposed again.

The ACFL Division 1 title is distinct and different from the Senior Football League (Leader Cup) in the same way that the team topping Division 1 of the National Football League is different from the National Football League champions. In some years ACFL Division 1 was split into groups of A and B or North and South or 1A and 1B, and in those instances the Division 1 title was decided between the top team in each group/section. It is worth noting that cups are also presented to those finishing top of Divisions 2 and 3 of the ACFL. The winner of the Senior Football League is awarded the Leader Cup, while the team finishing top of Division 1 wins the Johnny Skelly Cup.

All County Football League Division 1

ACFL Winners

WonClub / NameYear Titles Won
6Fr. Manning Gaels1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001
5Dromard2000, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2014
5Mullinalaghta St. Columbas2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2023
4Longford Slashers1991, 1994, 2012, 2013
3Clonguish2003, 2008, 2011
3Killoe Young Emmets2005, 2010, 2016
3Colmcille1990, 2020, 2022
2St. Marys Granard1992, 1993
2Abbeylara2009, 2015

All County Football League Division 1

Roll of Honour

YearACFL Division 1
2023🏆 Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2022🏆 Colmcille
2021🏆 Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2020🏆 Colmcille
2019🏆 Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2018🏆 Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2017🏆 Mullinalaghta St. Columbas
2016🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2015🏆 Abbeylara
2014🏆 Dromard
2013🏆 Longford Slashers
2012🏆 Longford Slashers
2011🏆 Clonguish
2010🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2009🏆 Abbeylara
2008🏆 Clonguish
2007🏆 Dromard
2006🏆 Dromard
2005🏆 Killoe Young Emmets
2004🏆 Dromard
2003🏆 Clonguish
2002🏆 Ballymahon
2001🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
2000🏆 Dromard
1999🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1998🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1997🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1996🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1995🏆 Fr. Manning Gaels
1994🏆 Longford Slashers
1993🏆 St. Marys Granard
1992🏆 St. Marys Granard
1991🏆 Longford Slashers
1990🏆 Colmcille

This content was researched & compiled independently from 2014 to 2023.
Please cite this website if quoting or using this material elsewhere.